12 Reasons You May Be Denied License To Carry A Concealed Weapon
There are many reasons why you may denied the right to carry a concealed weapon in Florida. Florida Statute 790.06 may contain an exception for your denial of a Concealed Weapon Permit. Here are 12 reasons you may be denied a permit-
- You are not a United States resident.
- You are under the age of 21.
- You suffer from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a weapon or firearm.
- You have been convicted of a felony.
- You have been charged with the use of a controlled substance within the last 3 years.
- You chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages or other substances to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired.
- You have been adjudicated an incapacitated person (unless 5 years have elapsed since the
restoration of capacity by court order).
- You have been committed to a mental institution (unless you can produce a certificate from
a licensed psychiatrist that you have not suffered from disability for at least 5 years).
- You have faced a Domestic Violence charge (unless 3 years have elapsed since completion of
the sentence or the record has been sealed or expunged).
- There has been a Domestic Violence Injunction entered against you that restrains you from
committing acts of Domestic Violence or repeat violence.
- You have not demonstrated competence with a firearm by completing a required course.
- You have been convicted of, or had adjudication withheld on, a misdemeanor crime of violence (unless 3 years have elapsed since completion of the sentence or the record has been sealed or expunged).
Sealing or expunging a prior criminal record can expedite your eligibility for a Concealed Weapons Permit. If you would like to obtain a Concealed Weapon Permit but have questions regarding your eligibility, please give us a call. We would be glad to discuss your 2nd Amendment rights with you.