What You Can Expect from Your First DUI Offense In Florida
- December 27th, 2013
- Bruce Denson
- Comments Off on What You Can Expect from Your First DUI Offense In Florida
One out of every 135 people will be arrested for driving under the influence each year, according to the National Highway and Safety Administration’s Annual Traffic Safety Report. And even though the government and nonprofit organizations have long invested in expensive marketing campaigns to convince people of the importance of not drinking and driving, the reality is that, despite the warnings, people are still going to do it.
“It won’t happen to me”
“It’s only a couple of drinks. I’m not drunk.”
“I won’t get caught.”
Chances are these same thoughts have crossed your mind a time or two. But what happens if you roll the dice and get caught? If you’re one of those arrested for DUI this year, here’s what you can expect for your first time DUI offense.
First Time DUI Penalties and Fines in Florida
Getting arrested for a DUI can be frightening, especially if it’s your first time. So we’ve outlined the penalties and fines for a first time DUI offense to help you better understand what you’re facing.
- Six-month maximum sentence if your blood alcohol limit (BAL) is between .08 and .15.
- Nine-month maximum if your BAL is above .15, or if there was a minor in the car at the time of your arrest.
- Two-year minimum if you kill or seriously injure someone.
- From $500 to $1000 if your BAL is between .08 and .15.
- From $1000 to $2000 if your BAL is above .15, or there was a minor in the car at the time of your arrest.
- Suspended from 180 days to one year.
- You must complete DUI school prior to filing a Hardship Application.
Ignition Interlock Device
- Installed on your car for up to six months.
- Mandatory 50 hours of community service, or
- Fine of $10 for each required hour of community service.
- 10 days.
- For no more than one year.
Why Should You Hire a DUI Attorney to Handle Your Case
You might think you should just roll with the punches. Take your medicine. Deal with what’s been handed down to you. But there are plenty of reasons why you should hire an experienced DUI attorney to handle your case.
Maybe you feel you were wrongfully charged. Or maybe you’re facing stronger charges because your DUI resulted in an accident. You’ll need an attorney who’s familiar with Florida DUI laws to help prove your innocence or reduce your charges.
It’s also very important to remember that you only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to apply for a hardship license. If you don’t request a court hearing in that time, your license will be suspended. Don’t let your DUI affect your ability to get to work and earn a paycheck.
And one of the most important reasons to hire an experienced DUI attorney to represent your case is because in the State of Florida a conviction of a DUI will stay on your record for 75 years. Wouldn’t you rather clear your name now than have a conviction follow you around the rest of your life?
How the Denson Firm Can Help You
DUI laws and requirements present a tricky maze to navigate. Between the Department of Motor Vehicles, DUI school, counseling and court hearings, there’s plenty to manage.
At The Denson Law Firm, we will:
- Streamline the entire process for you;
- Save you money in the long run, by avoiding duplication of your efforts and expediting the completion of all legal requirements;
- Work with the prosecutor to get the charges dropped or reduced to Reckless Driving;
- File more aggressive motions, if needed; and
- Devote the full force of our many years of litigation experience to representing your case, should it go to trial.
If you’re looking for an experienced DUI attorney to represent your case, call The Denson Law Firm. We’ve helped first time DUI offenders resolve their cases without conviction. So give us a call and schedule your free consultation today.