In Cruisin' For A Bruce-in, we ride along with Florida Attorney Bruce Denson as he gives brief explanations on Florida Law and what to do in common legal situations.
Here's everything you need to know about DUI school: If you've been charged with DUI, you're going to have to attend DUI school. So, it happens in about 95, at least, 95 percent of the cases where there's a DUI arrest made in Pinellas County. So I recommend people just go ahead and get started with it. Don't delay, let's get it out of the way. You know you may be feeling bad about your case or yourself, put that in the past, you know, let's start moving forward. Get signed up for DUI school.
If you're in Pinellas County, it's easy to do. You go to safety.org, you can do it right online, or you can visit them at the office and get signed up. You're going to need your ticket, it's good to have your arrest affidavit, and pick some dates that are the most convenient for you. They have evenings, they have weekends, just get it scheduled and set as soon as possible and also get the evaluation scheduled and set as soon as possible. Sometimes that takes a little longer but get it on your calendar and then for the class itself.
I've got a few tips and recommendations. One: Show up 15 minutes early for any date that you go. They lock the doors when the class starts and they're serious about it. They do not let people in who are late. So, get there early go sit in the parking lot, bring a book, or something, but don't be late.
It goes without saying, but show up sober. Don't have anything to drink for 24 hours before the class. They do breathalyze people at the door quite often and if you have any alcohol in your system, they're going to send you home and you're going to have to re-register and repay. So, don't do that and then in the class be active, engage, listen to the program. Most of my clients say that the DUI school is a lot better than they thought it was going to be. Everybody gets a little something out of it. Just go with the idea that there's going to be maybe two or three things that you take away. Let's see if there's something positive that that comes from it. So, I always say the only thing you can control is your attitude. So go and try to have a good attitude and that's the best way to get through DUI school.
Under Florida law, DUI school is a requirement to apply for a Hardship license. It’s a step that must be taken if you hope to get your driving privileges reinstated. While you must enroll to apply for hardship reinstatement, your license can be revoked again if you fail to complete DUI school.
If you or a loved one have been arrested, we can help. Contact The Denson Firm immediately for a Free Consultation.
Need to know what to do after an arrest? Our Criminal Defense Process is designed specifically to help our clients in their long-term interests and immediate concerns.
Need help with another legal issue? We offer a wide variety of legal services to help those who are in need.
© 2024 The Denson Firm. All rights reserved.