Were You Arrested for a DUI or DWI in St. Petersburg, FL?
Call 727-896-7000 to Schedule a Free Consultation Today!
DUI Defense in Florida
Many Florida DUI cases can be successfully defended if the person charged with drunk driving hires a St. Petersburg DUI attorney immediately to present a strong defense. If you win your case, you preserve your driving privileges and avoid jail time.
The Knowledge to Successfully Defend DUI Charges
Bruce Denson is a former Pinellas County prosecutor with over 14 years of experience as an attorney. He practices criminal law exclusively and understands how the criminal justice system works. He can relieve much of your anxiety by explaining the process and the likely outcome of your case to you. Obviously, no one can guarantee results, but you will appreciate the level of knowledge and experience his advice is based upon. For more information about the personal service we provide and the benefits of retaining our services, contact us today.
Phones answered 24-hours a day. Please call (727) 896-7000 for a free initial confidential consultation with an experienced Florida DUI attorney. We return all calls promptly.
Anyone Can Be Accused of DUI (driving under the influence)
An investigation in a Florida drunk driving case begins when a police officer stops a motorist to issue a traffic ticket. Even if the police arrest you, the arrest does not mean an automatic conviction for drunk driving. In some cases, your Florida drunk driving attorney can show that a police officer’s arrest was improper or unlawful. We may be also able to show that the field sobriety test was incorrectly administered and that you were not actually legally intoxicated. These, and other factors, could cause your case to be dismissed by the court or your charges to be reduced by the prosecutor.
Talk to a St. Petersburg DUI lawyer from The Denson Firm. We will evaluate your case from the time you were stopped until the time you were released from custody, looking for options to resolve the charges against you. Contact us today.
In addition to attacking the State’s case, we will investigate your defense options. We will make sure the prosecutor and the judge understand all the facts surrounding your case, not just the information provided by the arresting officer.
Florida DUI laws call for tough penalties for people convicted of drunk driving. A first-offense DUI conviction may lead to a driver’s license suspension as well as community service, jail time or probation; a sentence to complete DUI school; an evaluation for substance abuse and a substantial fine. If convicted, a court may direct that an ignition interlock device be placed in your car. Often your car insurance rates will increase substantially. If you have a prior drunk driving conviction in Florida or in another state, you face even stiffer penalties.
Help for Pinellas County, Florida Tourists Charged with DUI
If you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) while traveling through Florida, our attorneys can often represent you in court without the need for you to return to the state. We work with many Florida tourists pulled over for drunk driving while visiting Treasure Island, St. Pete Beach, Clearwater Beach, Madeira Beach and the other beach communities in the Tampa/St. Petersburg area.
By entering a notice of appearance on your behalf, we can try to get your case dismissed or negotiate a plea in absentia and have probation transferred to your home state.
There is no charge for your initial consultation. If you have been arrested for DUI, contact The Denson Firm to speak to a St. Petersburg DUI Lawyer today.
Driving on a Suspended or Revoked Driver’s License (DWLSR)
At The Denson Firm, we represent people charged with DWLSR (Driving with License Suspended or Revoked). If your driver’s license was suspended or revoked following a drunk driving offense, and you are caught driving with a suspended license, you face severe penalties. If you were involved in an accident causing serious injury or death to another person while driving without a valid driver’s license, you will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony and could face up to 5 years in prison and a substantial fine if convicted.